The Gift

She lies on her bed, stares at the ceiling, Emotions numb, devoid of feeling, Dust motes dance in a stray sunbeam, A last kiss from the golden gleam.

Shadows are forming, demons, reaching out, Voyeurs of the secret, Whispered screams, a silent shout.

Serene and corpse like, on a tranquil sea, Breathing in energy, to set herself free,

The walls revolve slowly, A wormhole in space, Humming a rhythm, Revolutions gather pace.

Clouds of butterflies, Rise from her breast, Sweet anticipation, Holds no protest.

Dark matter, photons, invade every pore, They surf in the blood stream, flow to the core.

Pure energy, Prana, Will carry her there, With half closed eyes, She will rise in the air.

A tornado surrounds her, as she is re-born, Suspended, ecstatic, in the eye of the storm.

A reward has been given, A medal of honour, For fighting a war, The one that broke her.

See how she smiles, forgive her temptation, A gift earned with blood, Levitation.

16 thoughts on “The Gift

  1. edwardlorn says:

    I’m with Chris. You should most definitely continue using Happy Bunny.

    Great post, Audrey. I’m impressed.

    E.

  2. JD Mader says:

    That was lovely, Audrey. Brilliant pace and imagery. And congrats on your first blog post! I shudder to think what my first was like. Keep sharing your beautiful words with us. 🙂

  3. Chris James says:

    Wow! Audrey, that is really very extremely good! Don’t be shy if you’ve got any more of those, will you? 🙂

    • avcarden says:

      Thanks Chris, that is praise indeed coming from a great writer like yourself!I cant’t tell you how much that means to me. So kind 🙂

      • avcarden says:

        Many thanks to you all for your support. I’m stunned and delighted by your response. I hope in time I can be half as good as yourselves. That would make me one happy bunny! Note to self: stop using words like *happy bunny*!;)

      • Chris James says:

        Thank you, Audrey, that’s very nice of you; but no, please don’t stop using words like “happy bunny” because they give character 🙂

  4. Jo-Anne Teal says:

    Wonderful imagery :)) Is this your first post?!

    • avcarden says:

      Yes Jo Anne, it is my first post. Thank you so much for stopping by, it really means a lot to me. Thank you for your kind comments.:)

      • Jo-Anne Teal says:

        Well congratulations on two counts then . Starting a blog is a big decision, I think. Taking the chance on putting our words out into the world is a step into the unknown. But, I think you’ll find it is a wonderful start to all sorts of great new things! Secondly, congratulations on writing a poem very worthy of being your first post! It is lovely and I look forward to reading more of your work :))

      • avcarden says:

        You are very kind Jo Anne, i really appreciate your comments. I do feel its a big decision, but I find that writing things down helps me immensely. I hope I can prove myself worthy of justifying, having a blog!:)

    • avcarden says:

      Yes Jo Anne, it is my first post. Thank you so much for stopping by, it really means a lot to me. Thank you for your kind comments.:)

    • avcarden says:

      Thank you KD, I couldnt have done it without your encouragement. I really appreciate your advice. As you can see, I still dont quite know what i’m doing yet, and the blog page needs tweaking. however, i’m very happy to have made a start!

Leave a Reply

